New Poem: Helmet

Now I have sorted my longest poem to date, and will be releasing it in parts (if you did not read part 1 you can click here), I can go back to releasing some of my shorter poems that will likely end up being read on YouTube Shorts. I have a few to get out there, but for my first one I thought I would go with one of my pet peeves. It is based on an issue I see a lot, and as a person with smallish children worries me, as it might give them ideas. Basically, it is people riding bikes without wearing a helmet as if it somehow makes them cooler! So yeah, I won’t rant about it, I will let the poem do the talking. Here is ‘Helmet.’ As usual, you can read it below, or head over to my poetry collection on wattpad entitled ‘Bad Poetry You probably never want read.’ Over there is more of my terrible poetry. I hope you enjoy, and feel free to comment both positively and negatively…

Helmet

Here I am, driving slowly

Stuck behind a bicycle

I curse at the fool

Peddling in front of me

Not because he slows me down

But because he does not wear a helmet

Gambling his life

For some improved aesthetic

Who needs a brain

When you look so cool?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About harveycd

Chris Harvey is a writer from Guernsey in the Channel Islands. He now lives in North Yorkshire with his wife, two children and the queen of the household, the cat! He writes mainly for children and young adults, usually in the genres of fantasy and sci-fi.

Leave a comment