Female Dr. Who – from dissappointment to trepidation to excitement

Jodie Whittaker Doctor

The more I think about Jodie Whittaker as the Doctor the more excited I get.

Something in my head told me that the new Doctor would be a woman but when it was first announced that Jodie Whittaker would be taking over I was a little disappointed. Not out of any sexist agenda but more because having a female Doctor could change the whole dynamics of the show. It has been said that changing male roles to female is not the way forward and that writers should just create more strong female characters. I am great believer in this. That is one reason I love Star Wars so much, each main character is designed well and there are both female and ethnic minority roles who do not feel like they are just shoe horned in.
The more I thought, and the more rubbish I read on the Internet, I realised I was being unfair. We need to give Jodie a chance like we do all Doctors and judge her on her performances (hoping the writers do her justice and do not write her as a strong woman but a strong Doctor with plenty of quirks). She is a great actress after all. But as I was thinking this something else happened, I started to think about Michelle Gomez as Missy. She was great in that role and her performances did not distance her from the role of the Master, she was an excellent addition to that character’s timeline.
So why can’t Jodie Whittaker make an excellent Doctor? I for one will give her a chance. I am now interested to see who the companion will be, will it be a male? Let’s hope it is not just some eye candy or Dr. Who will have gone backwards. Maybe Bill can come back and fancy the Doctor leading to an interesting relationship.
Maybe all my concerns are because I wanted Idris Elba, but he would make a better Master anyway (if he/she has survived)! Right, now the only disappointment is that we need to wait till Christmas to see Jodie Whittaker’s Doctor. I want to see it now!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

