The Book With No Pictures

Book No Pictures

The Book With No Pictures is firmly becoming a family favourite

It is very rare that a book makes a large impression on my three year old son. As for me, reading children’s books every night I find many merge into one collective mass of stereotypes and twee endings. Recently we got ‘The Book With No Pictures’ by B.J. Novak from the library. My son had his five year old cousin over and I was reading both boys their bedtime stories, I was told I could choose so picked ‘The Book With No Pictures’ amongst others. When we got to that book both my son and his cousin protested, they did not want me to read them something that had nothing to look at in it. I pressed my advantage of being the father figure and was allowed to read it to them as long as they got another book as well.

The idea of ‘The Book With No Pictures’ is that it gets adults to say silly things out loud. Very quickly it had the three and five year old laughing loudly and repeating the comments I was saying. As soon as I finished they wanted me to read it again, in fact I had to stop them asking for rereads so they could get to bed on time. The book really does have no pictures but that does not matter, it is the words (and the fact it tricks an adult into saying silly things) that the children will enjoy.

The next day when we got up, ‘The Book With No Pictures’ was the first thing they asked for, ahead of CBeebies! We then went out to a farm park and both were singing the silly song in the book (it is only two lines so easy to remember) and saying out loud (shouting) many of the  funny lines the book makes adults say. My son even asked for the book again at bedtime. If we are getting intellectual then this is the classic story of never judging a book by its cover, but really I just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed the book. So if you are looking for a silly book to read at bedtime, ‘The Book With No Pictures’ is a sure-fire hit!

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “The Book With No Pictures”

  1. Kristin says :

    This is my almost-six-year-old’s favorite book. She and her three-year-old sister particularly like to shout, “Boo-boo butt!” There is NO WAY we can read this at bedtime, though – it makes them nuts!

    • harveycd says :

      Yep it made mine go nuts but they were having a sleep over so there was no chance of them going to sleep! There is a second one called ‘The Alphabet Book With No Pictures’ coming out in September as well. Will have to check that out!

  2. Syd says :

    Oh wow. Will have to check this book out!

  3. alicekharper says :

    Sounds great. Will keep an eye out for it.

Leave a Reply

