NaNoWriMo 2016 update (or I WON!)

For the second time in my short life I have completed NaNoWriMo. In 2013 this was a race to the finish on the last day, this time I was the epitome of just hitting your word count every day. When I started I was worried about work and family commitments but this time my planning was so detailed that I did not find it too hard to complete. I do feel that if a Dad with two young children and a demanding job can complete NaNo then anyone can!

So now I can sit back and relax, or rather not. When I started I thought that I might not have enough content for 50,000 words but after about five days it became clear that 50,000 words was never going to be enough to tell the story I wanted. Now I have two choices, take a break from writing for a bit or plow on and get my first draft finished. I am in the writing zone now but I thought after thirty days of constant writing I would want to stop for a bit, however I am actually excited about getting my first draft finished. I don’t think I have ever felt so excited when writing, maybe the book isn’t going to be that bad after all. So here are my plans for the rest of the year and into next…

  • Finish the first draft of The Fifth Coin
  • Design a cover for A Close Shave with Destiny
  • Edit A Close Shave with Destiny
  • Release A Close Shave with Destiny
  • Edit The Fifth Coin
  • Release The Fifth Coin

So a lot to keep me busy then. But if NaNo has given me one thing it is hope, I don’t know if I will have anything released by the end of the year but at least I am moving forward with my writing once again. Right, I am off to open door one of my Lego Star Wars advent calendar, yeah I’m just a big kid really!

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2016 update (or I WON!)”

  1. cherylsterling1955 says :

    Congratulations on reaching your NaNo goal. You’ve probably decided whether to continue your novel by now. I’ve done both—let it rest and continue on. Here’s my suggestion (for what it’s worth)-lower your daily word count and keep writing. It’s hard getting the momentum back once you’ve dropped the project and come back to it later.
    Either way, take pride and continue writing!

    • harveycd says :

      Thanks for the advice, I am making sure I write at least 250 words per day. Not much but keeps the story going. It is easy as I am really enjoying the novel at the moment.

Leave a Reply

