National Poetry Day 2016

A friend told me yesterday that today, if you are reading this on the day it was posted, was National Poetry Day. I seem to miss these things. When I got home from work I quickly checked the theme and wrote a poem. The theme this year is ‘messages.’ I had no idea what to do so I wrote a poem about not being able to send a message with a little humour in there for added measure. It was written really quickly and I abandoned rhyming early on. I am actually quite happy with it. It is called ‘I tried to send you a message’ and, as per usual, can be read below or in my poetry collection on wattpad, ‘Bad Poetry You probably never want to read.’

 

I tried to send you a message

I tried to write a letter but I couldn’t find a pen

I tried to phone but you didn’t pick up

I tried it in an email but the computer took too long to load

I tried to send a text but I was out of phone signal

I tried to contact you on social media but the Internet was down

I tried to send a fax but realised it was an outdated communication method

I tried to shout it from the rooftop but did not have a big enough ladder

I tried to tell your other friends but they said they weren’t seeing you till next week

I tried to get some flowers and a card sent from a shop but I didn’t have enough change

Then I saw you, walking in the street, I tried to tell you but forgot what I needed to say

Probably wasn’t important

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

