Depression rises when the football season finishes

Apparently research (I don’t know where from?) reveals that football fans suffer withdrawal symptoms and depression over summers when there are no World Cups or European Championships. One of my friends recently stated, out of the blue, “life’s rubbish without football!” Whilst they clearly exaggerated that statement I do feel some part of it to be true. Us fans follow football like a religion, the stadium is one of our temples of worship. Yes it sounds sad but it is actually true. I have heard Christian Ministers say “no-one understands the world like believers,” and whilst I think there is no way to quantify this and thus is a load of rubbish there is something true in this about football fans. I would change the word understands to feels. People can understand a religion inside and out but do not necessarily have the same feeling. So it is with football, you can know all the rules, understand key strategies, learn how the players play but I don’t think you have the same feel for the game unless you are a fan. That said I may be wrong, I am looking at this from a fans point of view. Anyhow, a boring little anecdote for you now, I had set about one Saturday afternoon to do some gardening and though it would be fine as I could pop my headphones in my ears, get up the BBC iPlayer Radio app and get all the latest action. But the season is over. The blues started to hit me straight away. I usually check football news first thing in the morning to see if there is any transfer gossip or issues at a club, but whilst there is a bit it all seems rather dead. In a way I feel slightly empty. It is hard to explain the feeling to someone who thinks it is just a bunch of men acting like toddlers kicking a piece of pig round a field (ok I agree they act like toddlers!). This feeling led me to think about writing, a lot of people I know who write try their hand at the odd poem. I must admit, poetry is not something I overly enjoy but to expand my repertoire I thought I would have a go. I might do some more and pop it on Wattpad but for now here is a free poem about my summer feelings when football finishes. Be warned, it is terrible (that’s why I am giving it away free, no-one in their right mind would buy this!). Anyhow, enjoy…

As the cheers die down

by Chris Harvey

As the cheers die down

As the whistle is blown

As the ball bounces out

And the players depart

Like the roar in my ears

A small part of me dies

Silence in the stadium

Silence in my soul

No longer shall I stop

No longer shall I wonder

When doing the housework

When dragged out shopping

This device in my hand

This jack of all trades

No longer gets the attention

The attention my heart craves

It may be summer outside

But here I feel lost

For it is an odd year

No international lust

I am left to gossip

Reading headlines and web spaces

“Are they getting him?

Surely he won’t go there?

Please buy someone

Please don’t go”

Electronic versions

Of real life folk

Is all the contact I have

With the love of my life

I’ve won all the cups

I have all the trophies

But they are just pixels

No cold metal to touch

And they just add a score

Another achievement

I’ve unlock all the secrets

But no-one cheers for me

As the days go by

I count, like it’s Christmas

For it is my present

The escape that I need

Then there is it

The days are still light

I turn on the TV

Late in the night

They have pulled on the shirt

They run round the field

My passion is back

My religion rekindled

And the cheers have arisen

Louder than ever

The false hope is alight

We can do it this year

It is just like rebirth

Like a brand new beginning

A shiny new kit

Costing more than it’s worth

But I will pay the price

I will chant the chants

I will cheer with pride

And watch them fail again

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

