Well done Mr H.

As can be seen by many of my other posts, I have not been 100% happy with Roy Hodgson’s appointment as England manager. Unlike some people, however, I like to be proved wrong and yesterdays 3-2 victory over Sweden went some way to doing that. Whilst I was concerned with England’s more defensive style I was delighted with Hodgson’s tactical know how and use of substitutions. He played the correct team against France and got a well deserved draw, the team selection against Sweden was also spot and used Carroll’s height to good effect. The players got themselves into a mess by letting Sweden back in and take the lead, but the first time in over 10 years I saw the passion of the England players. I get fed up too with managers dilly dallying on the sidelines, however as soon as things went wrong Roy made a substitution and it proved to be the correct one. That said I still think we were too defensive and if we had gone at them would have beaten them easily. I would also like to see a little more pace on the wings, maybe give Downing a chance although I really do think we miss Lennon.

Now is the time to learn from the mistakes made last night and go at weaker teams, I just hope Rooney has the impact we want and we do not start playing for him rather than with him. The Ukraines, although at home, are very much beatable and if we play the tactics correctly we have an outside chance of winning this tournament.

So well done Mr H. and COME ON ENGLAND!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

